Welcome to the Geelong Athletics Website

Click here for all the latest Geelong Region Cross Country Team results and news & Facebook page

Upcoming events:
Geelong Athletics Cross Country Season - details coming soon

****Geelong Athletics 2013-14 Interclub and Individual Awards****
(Club and Individual Awards)

'Rebel Sport' & 'Runner's World'
Bellarine Athletics 4 Bridges Fun Run Sunday 9th March 2014
Full Results and Images here

'McDonald & Co. Real Estate' Twilight Trot, Handicap & Presentations, Eastern Park, Monday 4th March
(Full Results)

Report by Geoff McDonald

A record number of 75 participants attended the final run of the 23rd season of the Twilight Trot sponsored by Mc Donald & Co Real Estate and conducted by Geelong Athletics on Monday evening at Eastern Park. Juniors who qualified were handicapped over one lap of the long course whilst the seniors eligible for the Joyce Lockyer Memorial Trophy were handicapped over two laps of the long course. Those participants who did not qualify ran or walked over the same course.

Narelle Wiffen ran a big personal best time to take out the Joyce Lockyer Memorial Trophy in a corrected time 25.27. David Board had the fastest time overall of 16.05 followed by Dom Godfrey in 16.29

Henry Spry was the handicap winner of the junior U13 run over one lap followed in second place by Jaron Hobbs and Matilda Hobbs in third place.

End of Season Awards

U13 - Winner - Olivia Hobbs, R/U - Bethany Dean.
13 - 34yrs - Winner - Jamie Rowan. R/U -. Maria Saplamaeva.
35 - 50 - Winner - Angela Hobbs . R/U - Narelle Wiffen.
50+ - Winner - Patti Galvin. R/U - Mary Clough.

- Winner - Jaron Hobbs. R/U - Oscar Davalga.
13 - 29yrs - Winner - Andon Saplamaev. R/U - Joel Davis.
30 - 39yrs - Winner - Brad Seller. R/U Leigh Marriner.
40 - 49yrs - Winner - Michael Hobbs. R/U - Geoff Wiffen.
50+ - Winner - Peter Urban. R/U - David Simpson.

Introduce a Friend - Olympia Boxer

Joyce Lockyer Memorial Trophy - Narelle Wiffen.

Geelong Athletics wishes to thank its sponsors McDonald & Co Real Estate, Charles Crawford & Sons Funeral Directors, DeGrandi Cycle & Sport, Geelong Bowling Lanes, Barwon Water, Steigen & Subway.
Thank you to the Geelong Advertiser & Geelong News for publishing the race report each week and to those people who assisted in the running of the event throughout the season.

Chilwell top club at the Athletics Victoria Country Championships in Ballarat, 24th, 25th & 26th January

Congratulations to Athletics Chilwell - the Champion Club at the 2014 Country Championships,
performing near the top in both men's and women's categories to outscore  Bendigo Harriers
(Men's winners) and Eaglehawk (Women's winners)
Mary McDonald, President of Athletics Chilwell, receiving the Margaret
Mary McDonald, President of Athletics Chilwell, receiving the Margaret Saunders Country Cup,
as overall winners at the Victorian Country Championships

Andrew Bews & Steve Polizzi Christian Davis (COR) gold medallist, William Humble (CHI)
silver medallist
4x400 Relay Gold Medallists Athletics Chilwell, Silver Medallists Geelong Guild
Gold Medallists in the 4x400 relays - Athletics Chilwell Open Women and 40+ Women Jessica Fitzpatrick (GG) gold medallist, Georgie Boal (GG) silver, Lucy Fyffe
(CHI) Bronze in the U18 200m
Hamish Baylis (DKN) gold, Hashmat Ali (CHI) bronze in the U20 800m event

****Invitation throwing events have been added to the Shield programs (Amended AV Shield Programs)****

Program One will now have Invitational Discus (greater than 30m) Men & Women at 4.45pm

Program Two (starting this Saturday Nov 16) will now have Invitational Hammer Throw (greater than 30m) Men & Women at 1.20pm.
& Invitational Javelin (greater than 25m) Men & Women at 4.30pm

Please note that only 3 throws will be allowed and if there is a lack of officials the athletes will have to assist with running the event.

Archived News